Archive for February 9th, 2010




over the river and through the woods …

sometimes randomly while in Seattle i want to sing “over the river and through the woods ” because the scenery reminds me of it.  then i remember it is actually “over the river and through the woods to target we go.  thats how i felt last night. you can be walking in the neighborhood and all of a sudden you are in the woods and next you are at a shopping center.

Add a comment February 9, 2010

uwagimaya whaaa?

So today for lunch, my cousin took me to the International part of town which is not too far from the office. 

We went to Uwagimaya (which has a big food court of all types of asian food) and it was awesome.  What can I say I went for Chinese since my cousin doesn’t like it and I will probably only have it when I pick it for myself.  So, after we got to look through the grocery store and my cousin bought pockys!

We devoured these little snacks! She also bought mochi ice cream …

This is ice cream that is like a pocket in rice flour which is very gooey.  At first when you eat this it feels weird, but its yummy.  I tried Kona Coffee flavour and my cousin bought mango, so that’s next.  Yumm.

I can’t wait to go again and look around Uwajimaya.  This is the website : www.uwajimaya.com.

If ever in Seattle, surrounding cities or Beaverton, OR don’t hesitate to stop and look.  The one downtown has a bookstore and cooking school!  It even has a “Uwajimaya Village.” 

Next trip, I’m trying hawaiin food 🙂

Add a comment February 9, 2010

fried rice<3

so my cousin, a lovely cook, made fried rice this weekend.

I really don’t know too much about cooking  but I love to do it.  I was excited when I’d heard she’d make fried rice.  Turns out it is really easy here’s my version of the recipe  :

What you’ll need :

soy sauce

a bag of frozen veggies

an egg or two

& week old or leftover white/sticky rice

What you’ll do:

Get the leftover rice and put in on a medium hot pan, i guess you’d also need a smidge of olive oil.  Add your egg (or two haha) and cook for about 5 min.  While you are doing this put water to boil.  As soon as the water is boiling add the frozen veggies for a few seconds and run them though a strainer and add them to your rice and egg. Continue to fry for about 5/7 minutes more.  At the very end add in soy sauce to taste and voila !

You should be able to eye everything because it has to do with how much rice you have in the beginning 🙂

So much better than any chinese restaurant !

Add a comment February 9, 2010

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Posts by Month

Posts by Category